4 More States join UDAY Scheme – Total Number of States in UDAY increases to 27

The Ministry of Power has announced on April 2, 2017 that Mizoram became the 27th State to join UDAY(Ujwal DISCOM Assurance Yojana). Mizoram follows  3 states  – Kerala, Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura that joined UDAY at the end of March 2017.
UDAY (Ujwal DISCOM Assurance Yojana) was launched in November 2015 with the objective of  financial turnaround of Power Distribution Companies. States signing up for UDAY scheme will get assistance from the Ministry of Power in several ways like reduction in power cost through better coal linkages, coal swaps and others, and reduced borrowing costs.
The full list of states under UDAY can be found here.
Subscribe to RESolve Energy Consultants : Perspectives and Insights by Email